Diocesan Choir

The Diocesan Choir for the Diocese of Memphis in Tennessee is an all-volunteer, unauditioned choral ensemble that provides musical leadership at major Diocesan liturgies and other events—typically in the Cathedral.  In a usual year, the choir will sing for the Rite of Election, Chrism Mass, Ordinations, and some other liturgies and/or concerts.  Participation is open to all singers ages 13 and up.

We are now registering for the Eucharistic Congress on October 8 - 9 and for the Anniversary Concerts on November 7 & 12.

The Masses for the Eucharistic Congress will be on Friday, October 8 at 6:30 pm and Saturday, October 9 at 4:30 pm at the Renasant Center in downtown Memphis.  Many of the Saturday Vigil Masses will not be held as the priests will be at the Eucharistic Congress.  The Anniversary Concerts will be on Sunday, November 7 at 4 pm at St. Mary's in Jackson, TN and Friday, November 12 at 7 pm at the Cathedral.  Transportation may be made available for the concert in Jackson, but details have not been finalized. 

The rehearsals are as follows and will be held at the Cathedral, 1695 Central Avenue, Memphis, Tennessee, in Marian Hall, except where otherwise noted:

  • Sunday, August 8, 5:30 pm – 7 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Thursday, August 12, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Eucharistic CongressSoprano/Alto7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Eucharistic CongressTenor/Bass
  • Monday, August 16, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Eucharistic Congress; 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Friday, August 20, 1:30 pm – Singers’ Choice – Bring a list of what you need to rehearse
  • Wednesday, August 25, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Eucharistic Congress; 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Saturday, August 28, 10 am – 11 am – Anniversary ConcertTenor/Bass; 11 am – Noon – Anniversary ConcertSoprano/Alto
  • Tuesday, August 31, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Eucharistic Congress; 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Monday, September 20, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Eucharistic Congress; 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Tuesday, September 28, 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm – Anniversary Concert; 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm – Eucharistic Congress
  • Tuesday, October 5, 6:30 pm – Final rehearsal for Eucharistic Congress upstairs in the Cathedral
  • Monday, October 18, 6:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Tuesday, October 26, 6:30 pm – Anniversary Concert
  • Saturday, November 6, 10 am – 11:30 am – Final Rehearsal for Anniversary Concert upstairs in the Cathedral

 

Don't forget to add the rehearsal dates and event dates to your calendar.

Should a conflict arise with any of these dates, please let us know as soon as possible.

 

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions:

Kelly Kramer, Director of Music, Text or call:  901-246-1311; E-mail:  kelly.kramer@ic.cdom.org

Lynn Dunlap, Admin. Asst., Text:  901-763-3662; E-mail:  lynn.dunlap@ic.cdom.org

 

Registration for Diocesan Choir